Fighting Fire – Types of Fire

    Fire insurance covers damages and losses caused by accidental fire. Such insurance covers the loss that the insured may suffer due to destruction of or damage to property or goods, caused by fire, during a specified period and up to agreed amount. The insurer is liable to make the payment for the actual amount of loss.

    While we highly recommend insuring your property with a fire insurance policy, we believe it’s also our duty to educate you on the TYPES of fire. Afterall, the insured must act to avoid fires and, if a fire does occur, he must do everything possible to extinguish it. In such instances, he must behave as though he were uninsured.

    So, how many TYPES fires do we have?

    We have the following SIX types of Fire.

    • Class A – fires involving materials such as wood, paper or textiles.
    • Class B – fires involving flammable liquids such as petrol, diesel or oils.
    • Class C – fires involving gases.
    • Class D – fires involving metals.
    • Class E – fires involving live electrical apparatus. (Technically ‘Class E’ doesn’t exist, used for convenience).
    • Class F – fires involving cooking oils such as in deep-fat fryers.


    About Insurancepe